Present Structure


Presently, the Education Secretariat has the Headquarters that oversees and coordinates the activities of the Boards and Departments under it. The headquarters has 5 departments, 2 special divisions, 4 special units and 6 other administrative units that report to the Secretary for Education directly or through the Director Administration and Finance, as the case may be.

The five (5) Departments are:

i. Department of Administration and Finance (DAF)
ii. Department of Policy, Planning, Research & Statistics (DPPR&S)
iii. Department of Quality Assurance (DQA)
iv. Department of Higher Education (DHE)
v. Department of Special Needs Education (DSNE)

The two (2) Special Divisions under the Department of Administration and Finance are:

i. Administration & Supplies
ii. Finance and Accounts

The four (4) special units under the Secretariat Headquarters are:

i. Gender Unit
ii. Health & HIV/AIDS Unit
iii. School Services Unit
iv. School Sports Unit

The six (6) other administrative units under the Secretariat Headquarters are:

i. Audit Unit
ii. Legal Unit
iii. Procurement Unit
iv. Project Unit
v. Public Relations Unit
vi. Servicom Unit

The boards and departments that implement the education policies and manage schools at all levels and types of education in the FCT are:

i. Universal Basic Education Board (UBEB)
ii. Secondary Education Board (SEB)
iii. Department for Science and Technology (DS&T)
iv. Department of Mass Education (DME)
v. Education Resource Centre (ERC)
vi. FCT Scholarship Board (SB)

The tertiary education institutions under the Education Secretariat are:

i. FCT College of Education (COE)
ii. Federal Capital Territory University Abaji (FCTU) {yet to take off}

Providing Quality Education for Residents of the Federal Capital Territory