FCT Department of Mass Education (DME)
The FCT Department of Mass Education, hitherto referred to FCT Agency for Mass Education was established by the FCT Regulation No.1 of 1991. This regulation was an offshoot of Degree 17 of 1990 that set up the National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-formal Education. The decree directed all states in the Federation and the FCT to establish Agencies for Mass Education. The edict that set up the Agency was signed into law by the then FCT Minister Major General Muhammad Gado Nasko. A Board headed by a Chairman was inaugurated on August 13th 1991. Since the tenure of the last Governing Board of the Department expired in 1999, a new Board has not been re-constituted. A bill for an enabling law of the Department is now before the National Assembly awaiting enactment. However owing to the fact that the bill is yet to be passed, a circular titled Status of Some FCT Agencies Ref: PS/FCTA/042/VOL II dated 1st July, 2014 directed that the Agency among three others to revert Departmental status hence the current nomenclature


To have a Federal Capital Territory free of illiterates through providing non-formal education programmes that will eradicate illiteracy and provide skills that will empower the people for meaningful living


To reach out to the illiterate adults, out of school youths, women and the girl-child, nomads as well as other disadvantaged groups in the Federal Capital Territory through collaboration with stakeholders with a view to making them functional members of the society

Mrs. Yawon Caroline, Ag. Director, Department of Mass Education

The Department has 3 professional divisions, 2 service divisions, 5 specialized units and 6 zonal offices established in the 6 Area Councils of the FCT. The Zonal offices implement the programmes of the Department at the grass-root level

Providing Quality Education for Residents of the Federal Capital Territory