The Board started as Primary Schools Management Board (PSMB) in 1989 and was transformed to The FCT Universal Basic Education Board in 2005 following the passage of the Compulsory, Free, Universal Basic Education Act, 2004 and Other Related Matters. Its mandate is to provide free and compulsory Basic Education through management of Early Child Care Centres, Primary Schools, Nomadic Schools and Junior Secondary Schools. The Basic Education Board manages three quarters of all FCT public schools.


To serve as a model and set the standard for the actualization of the Nation’s Universal Basic Education programme in consonance with global technological dynamics


To provide Accessible Quality Basic Education in Partnership with all Stakeholders, to all School Age Population in the FCT and Equip the Pupils/Students with Life Skills alongside Relevant Ethical, Moral and Civic Values

Dr. Kabir Ibrahim Matazu (mni), Chairman FCT Universal Basic Education Board

The board consists of 8 divisions and 6 Local Education Authorities in the 6 Area Councils of FCT headed by Education Secretaries. The Board has a total of 17,000 staff, made up of both non-teaching and teaching staff.

Dr. Adamu Jatau Noma (mni), Director FCT Universal Basic Education Board

Providing Quality Education for Residents of the Federal Capital Territory